2012 Presidential Campaign

Obama hasn’t been the perfect president, but who is? I have so much to say about this presidency and our pitiful American response to it but those are left to late night conversations. When Obama was elected I danced in the streets with everyone else. Unlike other presidencies, Obama’s speeches and actions have left me with tears in my eyes on more than one occasion. He is our first African-American president. He is a democrat who has taken substantial steps to end discrimination in the workplace and in the home for a swath of minorities. I believe this presidential campaign is especially important and so I’ve decided to volunteer to help out by calling up folks. I’ve never done this before and don’t quite know what to say, but I think it’s important to reach out and let people know that so many of us care deeply about our country. We believe this really SHOULD be a land of opportunity, not just for a tiny minority. I am a product of the middle class and I’d like my children to grow up with the educational support, intellectual stimulation, and access to healthcare that I did.

Michelle Obama spoke for a lot of us last night when she said:

“WE LEARNED ABOUT DIGNITY AND DECENCY – THAT HOW HARD YOU WORK MATTERS MORE THAN HOW MUCH YOU MAKE. THAT HELPING OTHERS MEANS MORE THAN JUST GETTING AHEAD YOURSELF. WE LEARNED ABOUT HONESTY AND INTEGRITY – THAT THE TRUTH MATTERS. THAT YOU DON’T TAKE SHORTCUTS OR PLAY BY YOUR OWN SET OF RULES. AND SUCCESS DOESN’T COUNT UNLESS YOU EARN IT FAIR AND SQUARE.”

You can watch her full speech on the Democratic National Convention’s website or below.

Leave a Reply

