A new year, a new job

Since today is my last official day at work, I might as well admit it. I’m leaving the Open.Michigan initiative. It’s been a great journey, both personally and professionally, and it was a hard decision to leave such a fun, interesting, and action-oriented group. I still think I am super lucky to have worked in a position with the title “Open Education Coordinator” (still some of my favorite words!) but it’s time for me to challenge myself in a new way.

I’ll be starting my new position as a Special Projects Librarian at the University of Michigan Library (MLibrary) in January. I’ll be working on “major initiatives” within the Library, managing projects, supporting communication, and helping to ensure MLibrary continues to lead the way for academic libraries to effectively and innovatively serve our communities of scholars.

I’m looking forward to combining what I’ve learned about open education, community building, prototyping, applied research, and listening with the responsibilities of this new role at the University. I see libraries as active spaces of creation, mentorship, knowledge production, and community building and I’m pretty sure the staff and librarians at MLibrary see libraries this way too. This makes me very excited, because I think what I have done at Open.Michigan and what I will be doing at MLibrary are all part of the same thing: providing access to USEFUL knowledge and information to the community so we can make the world a better place.

And, as if you didn’t know it already, I am a librarian at heart:

Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 1.34.49 PM

So. I’m really sad to be leaving an awesome team of dedicated, passionate, and thoughtful folks but I’m hoping that, with this new position, I can do my part to bring Open Education and Libraries a little bit closer.

Here are a few personal highlights from the last two years:

Leave a Reply

