Shared Creations: Making Use of Creative Commons

Last summer I had a lot of conversations with the amazing, energetic Kristin Fontichiaro about education, open education, digital tools, librarianship, and the world of making and doing. Somehow I found myself writing a book with her for kids, librarians, and teachers (but mostly kids) about Creative Commons licenses and the things you can do with them. I jumped at the opportunity because here was a chance for me to get out of the bubble of academia and into the ‘real world’, to create a resource that folks might pick up off the shelves (digital or physical), read, and then do something awesome with that knowledge.

Image

I was really excited when this came in the mail.

It was actually a huge challenge to write this book (I supplied the domain knowledge, Kristin made it interesting, and the great people at Cherry Lake Publishing made it engaging and age-appropriate) but I enjoyed every bit of it.

I’m also proud to say that it is the FIRST(!) book published by Cherry Lake that is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You heard right. It’s also OER. A few weeks ago the book came out for sale and my friends at the Fayetteville Public Library Children’s Library (where I used to be an Assistant Youth Librarian) ordered their copy and my life just came full circle.

And because it’s licensed for reuse, the School of Open folks could use it for their Creative Commons for K-12 Educators class. Double full circle.

Nothing makes me more satisfied, energized and excited than seeing the work I do in an academic setting bleed into tools, activities, resources, and information that anyone, anywhere can use. I’m slowly figuring out how to bring this same perspective to the University of Michigan Library.

Did I mention how absolutely amazing Kristin Fontichairo is? Uh maize ing! She’s pretty much doing everything I want to do all the time, every day, with students, researchers, teachers, kids, people, librarians, and makers.

Leave a Reply

